Posted on

Class of 2019 awarded scholarships at CCHS Senior Recognition Night

  • Lexi Carey accepts the Christina Hixon Award Wednesday evening at CCHS Senior Recognition Night. (Press photo James Grob.)

  • Cinnamon Evans accepts the Stitchman Education Scholarship Wednesday evening at CCHS Senior Recognition Night. (Press photo James Grob.)

  • Sam Alinea accepts the Freda Buchan Scholarship Wednesday evening at CCHS Senior Recognition Night. (Press photo James Grob.)

  • Michael Peterson accepts the Matthew Shepard Scholarship Wednesday evening at CCHS Senior Recognition Night. (Press photo James Grob.)

By James Grob,

At the end, Charles City High School Associate Principal Larry Wolfe led the whole Class of 2019 in a rowdy chant of “We are CC!”

It was a time to celebrate, but also a time to recognize, honor and award students Wednesday, as more than 70 scholarships worth more than $125,000 were presented to members of the Class of 2019 at the CCHS Senior Recognition night.

“Work hard, dream big, do good and continue to make us proud,” Wolfe had told the graduating class before the school chant. He said those were the words his grandmother had written on a card when he graduated high school in 1982.

“Continue to work hard — the groundwork is set, it’s on you to carry it the rest of the way,” Wolfe elaborated. “Dream big, and don’t let anyone tell you it cannot be done. Do good — show empathy and understanding, the traits your parents have taught you. And continue to make us proud.”

Senior Michael Peterson had reason to be proud after receiving the Matthew Shepard Scholarship at the event Wednesday. The scholarship is awarded to an openly LGBTQ student who has demonstrated activism and community service and high moral and ethical standards and conduct.

The scholarships, worth about $14,500, are awarded in the name of Matthew Shepard, a college student killed in an anti-gay hate crime in Wyoming in 1998.

Shepard Scholarships are awarded to students with a reputation for honesty, integrity and community service, who respect themselves and others and who conduct themselves in such a way as to demonstrate moral and ethical leadership in their own lives and inspire others in kind.

Senior Lexi Carey was awarded the Christina Hixon Award, worth about $18,000. The award is a half-tuition grant to be used at Iowa State University. Recipients represent each county in the state of Iowa, and the award is made to high school seniors who demonstrates potential in ways that go beyond class rankings and test scores.

Senior Sam Alinea was awarded the Freda Buchan Scholarship, worth $5,000 per year for four years, while senior Cinnamon Evans received the Stitchman Education Scholarship, worth $4,000, granted to seniors who are enrolling in a nursing program at an accredited college or university who demonstrate potential for academic success at the college or university level.

Other awards presented Wednesday evening follow.

Class of 2019 Scholarship/Award Recipients

Senior Recognition Night, May 15, 2019

Al Hastings Award — Ryan Zuspan;

Alpha Delta Kappa — Cora Crooks;

American Citizenship Award — Sam Alinea;

American Legion Auxiliary — Devin Alton;

American Red Cross Scholarship — Amy Titus, Samantha Heyer; Arthur Koenigsfeld — Kara Hoffman;

Barry Basuk Memorial — Wyatt Stevenson; Bill Burge — Mason Deeter;

Boeding and Speltz Family Dentistry — Madison Ross.

Brenton Scholarship — Carter Johanningmeier;

Bruce Crooks Memorial Scholarship — Caleb Hejna;

C US Bank — Amy Titus;

Charles City Community Education Association — Cora Crooks;

Charles City Noon Kiwanis Club — Nicholas Litterer;

Charles City USBCYA Scholarship — Celeste Kellogg, Devin Alton, Madison Ross; Charles City Women’s Club — Nora Sullivan;

Christina Hixon Award — Lexi Carey.

Class of 1947 Scholarship — Cinnamon Evans;

Colin & Carol Robinson (NIACC) — Cinnamon Evans;

Comet Jerry Scholarship — Dylan Koresh, Sammi Heyer;

Cora Krueger Scholarship — Alec Elsbernd, Gael Salcedo, Katlyn Marty, Mason Deeter;

Debes — Amy Titus;

DeKalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award — Madelyn Tjaden;

Dorothy Davis — Celeste Kellogg;

Elaine Lane Memorial Scholarship — Carter Johanningmeier, Rebecca Hoffman.

First Security Bank & Trust Employee Scholarship — Madison Ross, Mariah McKenzie, Chase Foxen, Sam Alinea;

Floyd County Historical Society — Cinnamon Evans;

Freda Buchan — Sam Alinea;

Friends of the Library — Kara Hoffman, Rebecca Hoffman, Samantha Alinea;

Gene Worrall Memorial Scholarship — Ben Schwickerath;

Governor’s Scholar — Carter Johanningmeier.

Heartland Power Cooperative — Madelyn Tjaden;

Helen Koebrick Nursing — Cinnamon Evans, Cole Reams, Edgina David;

Industrial Technology — Chase Foxen, Jack Field;

Iowa Bowling Council Scholarship — Celeste Kellogg;

Iowa Bowling Council Scholarship — Devin Alton, Madison Ross;

Jean Wilson Memorial Scholarship — Jodie Sindlinger;

John and Donna Hitzhusen Scholarship — Sophie Thompson.

Kate McLeod — Isaiah Ortiola, Olivia Wolfe;

LeRoy P and Jean M Vance — Cinnamon Evans;

Margaret Wolf Scholarship — Rebecca Hoffman;

Mark Hruska Memorial Bowling Scholarship — Devin Alton, Madison Ross;

Mary Dodge Educational Fund — Bryant Mitchell;

Matthew Shepard Scholarship — Michael Peterson;

Michael Backer Memorial Scholarship — Sami Heyer; Minnie Jane Sylvester — Abby Hillegas.

National FFA Chevy Trucks/Mike Molstead Motors — Caleb Hejna;

NBJ Corporation — Rebecca Hoffman;

NIACC Athletic Scholarship — Mason Deeter;

NIACC Foundation Area 2 High School Scholarship — Jack Field;

NIACC Foundation Area 2 High School Scholarship — Jacob White;

NIACC Foundation Scholarship — Caleb Hejna;

NIACC Link Scholarship — Caleb Hejna, Christian Kreger, Mason White, Sophie Thompson, Whitney Martin, Wyatt Stevenson.

NIACC President’s Scholarship — Mason White;

PEO Sisterhood — Thea Montemayor;

PEO Star — Jodie Sindlinger;

Philip Vail Carroll and Margaret L. Carroll — Ben Schwickerath;

RJ Hagman Speech — Ruby Peterson;

Robert & Lois Bergland (NIACC) — Isaak Jensen;

Robert Kittleson — Devin Jones;

Rotary Outstanding Senior Student — Samantha Alinea, Samantha Heyer.

Stan White Award — Colton Slinger, Cora Crooks;

Stitchman Education Scholarship — Cinnamon Evans;

Terri and Eric Santee — Colton Slinger;

Truman Manship Scholarship — Cinnamon Evans;

John Hohnholt Memorial Scholarship — Isaiah Ortiola;

Wayne Swant and Mayme Swant — Chase Foxen.